DESIGN SINCE 1945 by Kathryn Hiesinger and George Marcus


DESIGN SINCE 1945. Kathryn Hiesinger and George Marcus , Philadelphia Museum of Art, 1983. First edition. 10.75 x 11.5", softcover, 252 pages and 567 illustrations.

Catalog from the exhibition at the Philadelphia Museum of Art (October 16, 1983 - January 8, 1984).

Contents: Foreword; Introduction: Design Since 1945 by Kathryn B. Hiesinger; Design and Theory by Max Bill and Ettorre Sottsass; The Design Process by George Nelson; Design and Technology by Niels Diffrient; Design and Society by Marco Zanuso; Design, Invention, and Fantasy by Olivier Mourge; Design for Market by Philip Rosenthal; Design and the Consumer by Herbert J. Gans; Design and Government by Paul Reilly; A Survey of Design Since 1945; Appliances with an Introduction by Dieter Rams; Ceramics and Glass with an Introduction by Timo Sarpaneva; Furniture with an Introduction by Hans J. Wegner; Lighting with an Introduction by Achille Castiglioni; Metalwork with an Introduction by Carl Pott; Plastics with an Introduction by Bruno Danese; Textiles with an Introduction by Jack Lenore Larsen; Wood with an Introduction by Jens Quistgaard; Biographies of Designers by Kathryn B. Hiesinger and George H. Marcus; Selected Bibliography; Acknowledgments; Index of Designers and Manufactures.

Designers, manufacturers, and artists include: Charles and Ray Eames, Paul McCobb, George Nakashima, Hans Wegner, Alvar Aalto, Harry Bertoia, Kaj Franck, Henry Dreyfuss, Robin and Lucienne Day, Joe Colombo, Arne Jacobsen, Poul Kjaerholm, Florence Knoll, Russel Wright, Edward Wormley, Paolo Venini, Eero Saarinen, Eero Aarnio, Franco Albini, Gae Aulenti, Hans Theo Baumann, Eva Brummer, Livio Castiglioni, Piergiacomo Castiglioni, Joe Colombo, Alexander Girard, Michael Graves, Frank Gehry, Georg Jensen, Dora Jung, Stig Lindberg, Vico Magistretti, Erik Magnussen, Bruno Mathsson, Carlo Mollino, George Nakashima, Isamu Noguchi, Eliot Noyes, Sven Palmquist, Verner Panton, Pierre Paulin, Warren Platner, Gio Ponti, James Prestini, Hans Wegner, Eva Ziesel and many others!